News Release

CCA Welcomes David A. Dodge as Chair of its Board of Directors and Four New Members to its Scientific Advisory Committee

The Council of Canadian Academies (CCA) is pleased to announce the appointment of David A. Dodge, O.C., FRSC, Senior Advisor, Bennett Jones LLP, as the Chair of the Board of Directors and thanks outgoing Chair of the Board, Margaret Bloodworth, C.M., former federal Deputy Minister and National Security Advisor, for her dedication and leadership in this role over the last five years.

The CCA is also pleased to announce the addition of four new members to its Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC): Karen Bakker; Jeffrey A. Hutchings, FRSC; Chris MacDonald; and Gilles G. Patry, C.M., O.Ont., FCAE.

Three Scientific Advisory Committee members’ terms have come to an end: Jean Gray, C.M., FCAHS, Professor Emeritus, Medical Education, Medicine, Pharmacology, Dalhousie University; John Hepburn, FRSC, Vice-President, Research, CIFAR; and Gregory S. Kealey, C.M., FRSC, Professor Emeritus, Department of History, University of New Brunswick.

The CCA’s Board of Directors is responsible for setting the strategic direction of the organization and ensuring fulfillment of the CCA’s mandate and oversight of the CCA’s operations. The Scientific Advisory Committee advises the CCA’s Board with respect to assessment topic selection, terms of reference, expert panel selection, and peer review.


“I’m pleased to be stepping into the role of Chair and look forward to working with my colleagues on the Board to help set the strategic direction of the CCA as the organization continues to address issues of national importance for Canada.”

–          David A. Dodge, O.C., FRSC, Incoming Chair, CCA Board of Directors

“It’s been a pleasure and an honour to serve as Chair of the Board for an organization that works to ensure scientific evidence and insights are brought forward to support policy and decision making in Canada. I’m thankful for the opportunity to have worked with such accomplished colleagues and I’m confident David Dodge will help to guide the organization through what is sure to be another significant period of development.”

–        Margaret Bloodworth, C.M., Outgoing Chair, CCA Board of Directors

“A sincere thank you goes to our exiting Committee members who have been with us for many years and whose long-standing support and guidance has been invaluable. On behalf of the CCA I’d like to extend a warm welcome to Karen Bakker, Jeffrey A. Hutchings, Chris MacDonald, and Gilles G. Patry, who will bring a wealth of diverse knowledge to the Committee.”

–        Eliot A. Phillipson, O.C., FCAHS, Chair, Scientific Advisory Committee 

“The CCA is grateful to Margaret Bloodworth for her steadfast leadership since 2013. We look forward working with David A. Dodge as he steps into his new role as Chair. We’re also delighted to welcome our four new SAC members and bid a very fond farewell to the exiting members.”

         Eric M. Meslin, PhD, FCAHS, President and CEO of the Council of Canadian Academies


  • David A. Dodge, O.C., FRSC, is a Senior Advisor at Bennett Jones LLP. During a distinguished career in the federal public service he held a number of increasingly senior positions at the Department of Finance and was appointed Governor of the Bank of Canada for a seven-year term in 2001.
  • Biographies of all Board members can be found here.
  • Karen Bakker is a Professor, Canada Research Chair, and Director (Program on Water Governance), at the University of British Columbia. As the author of over 100 academic publications, her research focuses on environmental governance and innovation, with a focus on fresh water management.
  • Jeffrey A. Hutchings, FRSC, is Killam Memorial Chair and a Professor of Biology at Dalhousie University. His work on fish ecology, evolution, and population dynamics has been published in over 220 peer-reviewed scientific articles and he has served on the editorial boards of eight scientific journals and multiple international expert review panels. Professor Hutchings is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada.
  • Chris MacDonald is Associate Professor; Director of the Ted Rogers Leadership Centre; Chair of the Law and Business Department at the Ted Rogers School of Management at Ryerson University. He is the co-editor of the Business Ethics Journal Review, and co-author of two popular textbooks in business ethics.
  • Gilles G. Patry, C.M., O.Ont., FCAE, is the Executive Director of the U15 Group of Canadian Research Universities. He brings a wealth of experience from private, public, and academic sectors including as former President of the Canada Foundation for Innovation, and the University of Ottawa. Patry is a member of the Order of Canada, a recipient of the Order of Ontario, and a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering.
  • Biographies of all Scientific Advisory members can be found here.