Memory Institutions and the Digital Revolution

Library and Archives Canada has asked the Council of Canadian Academies to assess how memory institutions, which include archives, libraries, museums, and other cultural institutions, can embrace the opportunities and challenges of the changing ways in which Canadians are communicating and working in the digital age.

Progress Report

The Expert Panel on Memory Institutions and the Digital Revolution held its final face-to-face meeting earlier this year, where they considered comments from the peer review process. The report has been approved by the Panel and is now in publication. It is set to be released in early 2015.

Background

Over the past three decades, Canadians have seen a dramatic transformation in both personal and professional forms of communication due to new technologies. Where the early personal computer and word-processing systems were largely used and understood as extensions of the typewriter, advances in technology since the 1980s have enabled people to adopt different approaches to communicating and documenting their lives, culture, and work. Increased computing power, inexpensive electronic storage, and the widespread adoption of broadband computer networks have thrust methods of communication far ahead of our ability to grasp the implications of these advances.

These trends present both significant challenges and opportunities for traditional memory institutions as they work towards ensuring that valuable information is safeguarded and maintained for the long term and for the benefit of future generations. It requires that they keep track of new types of records that may be of future cultural significance, and of any changes in how decisions are being documented. As part of this assessment, the Council’s expert panel will examine the evidence as it relates to emerging trends, international best practices in archiving, and strengths and weaknesses in how Canada’s memory institutions are responding to these opportunities and challenges. Once complete, this assessment will provide an in-depth and balanced report that will support Library and Archives Canada and other memory institutions as they consider how best to manage and preserve the mass quantity of communications records generated as a result of new and emerging technologies.

The full assessment process for the study is expected to take 24 months and will include a rigorous peer review exercise to ensure the report is objective, balanced and evidence-based. Following the review and approval by the Council’s Board of Governors, the complete report will be made available on the Council’s website in both official languages. More information about the Council’s process can be found here.

Question

How might memory institutions embrace the opportunities and challenges posed by the changing ways in which Canadians are communicating and working in the digital age?

Sub-questions

  • With the use of new communication technologies, what types of records are being created and how are decisions being documented?
  • How is information being safeguarded for usefulness in the immediate to mid-term across technologies considering the major changes that are occurring?
  • How are memory institutions addressing issues posed by new technologies regarding their traditional roles in assigning value, respecting rights, and assuring authenticity and reliability?
  • How can memory institutions remain relevant as a trusted source of continuing information by taking advantage of the collaborative opportunities presented by new social media?

Expert Panel

The Expert Panel on Memory Institutions and the Digital Revolution is chaired by Dr. Doug Owram, FRSC, former Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Principal at the University of British Columbia Okanagan Campus. For a complete list of panel members visit the Expert Panel on Memory Institutions and the Digital Revolution page.

For further information, please contact:

Tijs Creutzberg, Program Director at 613-567-5000 ext. 232 or  tijs.creutzberg@scienceadvice.ca

Mailing List Signup

Receive our newsletter, notifications of new assessments topics, news releases, and more!
Preference English  Français
Additional Information

Les institutions de la mémoire collective et la révolution numérique

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada a demandé au Conseil des académies canadiennes (CAC) d’évaluer de quelle manière les institutions de la mémoire collective, lesquelles incluent les archives, les bibliothèques, les musées et d’autres institutions culturelles, peuvent tirer profit des occasions qui se présentent et relever les défis se rapportant à la transformation des modes de communication et de travail de la population canadienne en cette ère numérique.

État d’avancement des travaux

Le comité d’experts sur les institutions de la mémoire collective et la révolution numérique a tenu sa troisième réunion les 7 et 8 novembre à Montréal. Au cours des prochains mois, le comité poursuivra son évaluation et se préparera à soumettre une ébauche de son rapport à un examen par des pairs, prévu pour le printemps 2014.

Contexte

Au cours des trois dernières décennies, les Canadiennes et les Canadiens ont été témoins d’une transformation radicale des formes de communication employées dans la vie personnelle et professionnelle apportée par les nouvelles technologies. Alors que les premiers ordinateurs personnels et les systèmes de traitement de texte étaient généralement utilisés et vus comme des machines à écrire sophistiquées, le virage technologique entamé depuis les années 1980 a permis aux gens d’adopter différentes options pour communiquer et documenter leur vie, leur culture et leur travail. La puissance informatique accrue, l’archivage électronique abordable et la mise en place généralisée de réseaux informatiques à large bande ont propulsé les méthodes de communication bien au-delà de notre capacité à prédire toutes les répercussions de ces percées.

Ces tendances comportent à la fois des défis et des occasions importantes pour les institutions traditionnelles de la mémoire dans l’atteinte de leur objectif de veiller à ce que les informations importantes soient protégées et conservées à long terme au bénéfice des générations futures. Cela exige qu’elles assurent un suivi des types de documents en émergence qui pourraient avoir une importance culturelle dans le futur ainsi que des changements apportés à la façon de documenter les décisions par suite des innovations qui surviennent dans le domaine des technologies numériques. Au cours de son évaluation, le comité d’experts du CAC examinera les données se rapportant aux tendances émergentes, aux pratiques exemplaires adoptées à travers le monde dans le domaine de l’archivage des informations, ainsi qu’aux points forts et aux points faibles observés dans la façon dont les institutions canadiennes de la mémoire saisissent ces occasions et répondent à ces défis. Une fois terminée, cette évaluation offrira un portrait détaillé et équilibré qui aidera Bibliothèque et Archives Canada à explorer les meilleurs moyens de gérer et de préserver l’énorme quantité de fichiers de communication qu’ont permis de créer les technologies nouvelles et émergentes.

L’ensemble du processus d’évaluation pour l’étude prendra 24 mois. Ce processus prévoit que le rapport soit assujetti à un examen rigoureux par des pairs afin d’assurer que, dans sa version définitive, il soit objectif, équilibré et fondé sur des données probantes. Lorsque le conseil des gouverneurs du CAC aura examiné le rapport et l’aura approuvé, la version intégrale sera publiée sur le site Web du CAC dans les deux langues officielles. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le processus du CAC, veuillez cliquer ici.

Question

De quelle manière les institutions de la mémoire collective peuvent-elles, en cette ère numérique, tirer profit des occasions et relever les défis liés à la transformation des modes de communication et de travail de la population canadienne?

Sous-questions

  • Compte tenu des nouvelles technologies de communication, quels types de documents sont créés et comment les décisions sont-elles consignées?
  • Quels moyens sont mis en œuvre pour préserver la disponibilité immédiate et à moyen terme des informations compte tenu de l’évolution des plateformes technologiques?
  • Quels moyens sont pris par les institutions de la mémoire pour résoudre les problèmes soulevés par les nouvelles technologies dans le cadre des rôles traditionnels de ces institutions, qui sont entre autres de déterminer la valeur des informations, de veiller au respect des droits d’utilisation et de garantir l’authenticité et la fiabilité des documents?
  • Comment les institutions de la mémoire peuvent-elles tirer avantage des possibilités de collaboration offertes par les nouveaux médias sociaux afin de demeurer des sources pertinentes d’informations permanentes et fiables?

Comité d’experts

Le comité d’experts sur les institutions de la mémoire collective et la révolution numérique est présidé par Doug Owram, MSRC, ancien vice-chancelier adjoint et recteur du campus d’Okanagan de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique. La page comité d’experts sur les institutions de la mémoire collective et la révolution numérique donne la liste des membres du comité.

Pour de plus amples informations, veuillez communiquer avec :

Tijs Creutzberg, directeur de programmes, au 613-567-5000, poste 232, ou par courriel, à l’adresse suivante : tijs.creutzberg@scienceadvice.ca

 

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

Recevez nos avis, communiqués, publications, etc.!
Préférence English  Français
Information supplémentaire